Lines open 8am - 11pm | Offices open 7 days weekdays 9am - 9pm weekends 9am - 5pm   |   Our commitment to keeping you safe

Customer Reviews

What our clients say...

quote-mark-left
  • 03/08/2022

    Will was amazing throughout the process. He kept me informed of progress at all times and was proactive in his dealings with both sides in order to expedite the sale. I have no hesitation in recommending him.



  • 18/07/2022

    I dealt with Rory in the lettings department and he was incredibly efficient, professional and helpful. I let my house through JA and as I live abroad I needed additional help with quotes for decoration etc. Rory went above and beyond what I requested and often found excellent solutions to issues. I would have no hesitation in recommending JA and in particular Rory.



  • 18/07/2022

    I recently sold my property through James Anderson and I couldn't be happier! Jack was with me from start to finish and worked so hard selling (what turned out to be) a bit of a tricky leasehold flat! Complete professionals and well worth the commission ☺️



  • 05/07/2022

    I just wanted to say what a delight it’s been interacting with Miles Morgan over the past few weeks. Miles has been doing viewings on the property we have been living in over the past few weeks (as we prepare to move out), as have a number of other agents but he’s been particularly professional and courteous. I’ve dealt with a lot of agents in the passed 20 years that I’ve been renting and he’s stood out from the rest



  • 30/06/2022

    We can 100% recommend James Anderson! Many many thanks to Miles. He went an extra mile To help us sort out everything quickly- our situation wasn’t easy...And everything went so smooth. EXCEPTIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE!



quote-mark-right
row of houses illustrated to divide the page
Select Branch:
Barnes Sales

Fleur

10/05/2022

Fantastic experience dealing with Fatima and Tim in Barnes. Both made the transaction very straightforward from the initial point of offer to some slightly trickier points towards the end of conveyancing. Thank you for all your help!
READ MORE CLOSE

Kate Ellis

24/04/2022

Tim, Fatima and the team were all extremely helpful and supportive throughout the sale of my mother's house. The whole process was managed extremely efficiently and the team were always responsive when we had questions or concerns. I would not hesitate to choose James Anderson again.
READ MORE CLOSE

Michelle McMahon

18/02/2022

(2017) Very impressed by the service I received from James Anderson on the sale of my current and purchase of my new properties. Michael, who was my dedicated contact from the start, worked hard to ensure that it all went as smoothly as possible, keeping me informed every step of the way. The service also stood out for how personal it was. At no time did I feel I was just one of many clients. They are a perfect example of what a great estate agent should be and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them or use them again in the future. (2022)This is the second time I've used James Anderson. As previously, the service and support from Graham, Fatima and Tim were great. Communication was excellent and the calm support Tim provided at challenging moments in the sales process really helped to reduce stress levels. Thanks to you and your team, Tim.
READ MORE CLOSE

Joe Williams

16/02/2022

Tim was incredibly helpful and patient throughout the house purchase, working through lots of details. Highly recommend.
READ MORE CLOSE

Horacio Queiro

12/02/2022

I have experienced several estate agencies in my time but none offers as good as the service as I received from all the staff in the Barnes office. Tim Branston did an excellent job of patiently nursing what turned out to be a bizarrely complicated sale but all the staff was outstandingly persistent, jolly and kind
READ MORE CLOSE

Sarah Scott

11/02/2022

I want to thank Tim & Graham for all their help with what has been a very long process of selling my flat! They have been attentive, patient & understanding throughout, and I would definitely recommend them to anyone selling or buying in the area. Thank you :)
READ MORE CLOSE

Resul Ceylan

09/02/2022

I want to thank Fatima and Tim for their efforts to help us buying our property. They were really helpful and communicative.
READ MORE CLOSE

Kenny Yip

08/02/2022

William has been very helpful on our letting properties search. He is very responsive to our enquiry and provides excellent services
READ MORE CLOSE

CHARLES RAWKINS

04/02/2022

Tim, Fatima and Graham were fantastic throughout our buying experience and made a stressful and complicated process considerably more straightforward than it might of been. We would highly recommend James Anderson Barnes for their service and expertise and will certainly be using them should we come to be moving in future.
READ MORE CLOSE
Load More Reviews
No More Reviews
row of houses illustrated to divide the page

Investing in property? Here are our top tips!

With high demand for property driving up house prices and rents across the country, now is a great time for new or established landlords to ride the wave by investing. But where should you start, and how can you improve your chances of a respectable return? Read on to find out.

Choose your location

Ideally, it’s sensible to invest in an area within a manageable radius of your current location. This will allow you to visit the property easily, complete any necessary improvements, or keep an eye on contractors. If you live nearby, you’re also more likely to know which streets and neighbourhoods are the most desirable, helping you identify golden opportunities as soon as they arise.

Once you’ve settled on a general area, spend some time researching the current market conditions, including the average local rent and sale price for the type of property you’re interested in buying.

Hint: A trusted local agent like ourselves can advise you on this.

Identify potential ways to add value

While searching for the perfect rental, consider ways you could improve a property to make it more appealing to your ideal tenant. Could you add an extra bedroom or a home office by converting the loft? Is the property worth renovating to bring it in line with more high-end lets? This is where your market research will come into its own.

Other ways to increase profit may include selling off additional land a tenant won’t need or splitting up a building into apartments. Just make sure you obtain advice from a relevant professional before you invest.

Decide on funding

Yes, opportunities are endless for cash buyers, but if you have the minimum deposit (usually 25%), a buy-to-let mortgage can help you achieve your dreams. The maximum you can borrow is linked to the rental income you expect to receive, which should be 25–30% higher than your mortgage payment. Specialist lenders may also provide a bridging loan to cover the cost of renovations while you get the property up-to-scratch.

Beyond these top tips, our property experts are always on hand to help.

Contact us to discuss potential investment opportunities or book a rental valuation.